Tags

, , , , ,

Greetings!! Yes, I’m still alive!

I know it’s been awhile, but I’ve had trouble finding time to blog between being sick, working on a couple of portfolio photo shoots last week, and reading The Hunger Games books this weekend.

A long time ago, I promised to deliver a Monday Getaway post about a yurt camping, girls’ weekend, so here it is!

I like camping as much as anyone, but when I camp, I prefer lying in the shade with a good book over other outdoor pursuits. Can’t you imagine relaxing on the deck of one of these? (“Sage” yurt at Lake Cachuma campground, sleeps 5, $60 per night)

Lake Cachuma is located in Santa Barbara County in CA, and is only about a four hour drive from Los Angeles, perfect for a weekend getaway! I have been tent camping here a couple of times with Andrew, but I’ve always wanted to rent one of these yurts. They just look so fun, like a fancy version of the forts you make as a kid!

Check out the view and the awesome interior! It’s a little bare bones, but you could decorate the inside a bit to make it more festive.(Images via The Felt Mouse)

The yurts have the normal campsite amenities, such as a picnic table, BBQ, fire ring, and water spigot outside – plus the added bonus of lighting, heating, and electrical outlets inside! Perfect for twinkle lights!

Another bonus of staying at Lake Cachuma is that it’s a ten minute drive from wineries, Andersen’s Pea Soup restaurant, and Solvang (home of the Ebelskiver!).  Plus there’s a cute little ranch nearby where you can feed ostriches and emus, which is very fun.

I could see even having a fun, quirky bachelorette weekend in one of these yurts, decorated something like this…(Bachelorette getaway inspiration shoot, styled by Jessica and *me*!!)

What do you think, would you camp in a yurt? I can’t wait to try it!

Oh, and check out my ideas on canal boating in France here!

P.S:  More to come on those recent photoshoots, don’t worry! And yes, those are bras… 😉

