Tags

, , , ,

On this Monday, I find myself dreaming about visiting New York City.  I’ve never been there before, but in a couple of weeks Andrew and his friends are going for a short stay, so I’ve been checking out fun things for him to do.

If the two of us were going to NYC for an extended weekend (in the middle of February, when the average temp is 35F degrees, yikes!), this is what we’d do:

Stay in Chelsea, an area that’s fairly central to the sights.(Holiday Inn Express – Madison Square Garden; from $141 per night)

Do the “must see” touristy things of course, like visiting Rockefeller Center and trying to get on the Today Show and/ or ice skating, walking through Central Park, going to the top of the Empire State Building, visiting the Statue of Liberty, walking across the Brooklyn Bridge, and getting a picture in the middle of Times Square.

Since Andrew loves L.A.’s China Town, a visit to NYC’s China Town is also a must!

We both love art and design, so I thought that in addition to checking out NYC’s plethora of art galleries and museums (The Met, MoMA, etc.), visiting the High Line would be awesome.

The High Line is a public park built on an old freight rail line, and it runs for a mile over the city streets.  The park features art exhibits and landscape architecture as well.  And it’s free!

And since Andrew also loves beer so much, and I love soft pretzels (yum!), we’d go to The Biergarten at the Standard Hotel afterward.  Plus, it’s right by the High Line…(Bonus: it stays warm in winter, even though it’s open air!)

Also, a visit to the Guggenheim museum would be necessary.

Finally, if I had my way, we would stand around looking for the Cash Cab the whole time!  (I was born for this show, I’m telling you!  I’m a font of useless information!)

(This is funny…)

Anyway, that’s this week’s Monday Getaway post!  So much to see, so little time!

Have you ever been to NYC?  What did I leave out?

P.S:  Check out this “rad” NYC guide, put together by writer Joanna Goddard on her A Cup of Jo blog.  She has lists of her favorite places, as well as tips on not looking like a tourist and how to hail a taxi.  🙂

